Wednesday, July 2, 2014

Football legends and greats lineup for 25th American Century Championship

NFL greats know where to meet once a year for tee-to-green turf action without the helmets and pads. The 25th year, the American Century Championship at Edgewood Tahoe July 15-20, 2014 will be represented by promising young athletes, Super Bowl team stars, Pro Bowl champions and NFL Hall of Fame legends who line up to take a swing and a piece of the $600,000 purse.  

Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers quarterback signs autographs for the fans.
Two returning NFL players are in the American Century Championship winners' circle and will again compete in what promises to be one of the great showdowns. The question among the minds of many is can last year's runner-up, Mark Rypien, who was the very first American Century Championship winner at Edgewood Tahoe in 1990 repeat what he did 25 years ago? You can bet four-time American Century Championship winner and defending champion Billy Joe Tolliver will be in the hunt. 

Always the crowd pleasers, returning NFL Hall of Famers are Marcus Allen, John Elway, Marshall Faulk, Jerry Rice, Emmitt Smith and Steve Young.

Players and coaches, past and present who will return to the American Century Championship include: former NFL Pro Bowl running back Jerome Bettis; former NFL wide receiver Tim Brown; Super Bowl winning quarterback Trent Dilfer; former NFL head coach Herm Edwards; Denver Broncos Head Coach John Fox; Chicago Bears kicker Robbie Gould; former NFL Pro Bowl quarterback Trent Green; former NFL Pro Bowl star and all-time sack leader Rodney Harrison; Green Bay Packers linebacker AJ Hawk; Oakland Raiders kicker Sebestian Janikowski; former NFL Pro Bowl star safety John Lynch; former Chicago Bears quarterback Jim McMahon; Arizona Cardinals quarterback Carson Palmer; Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers; former NFL Pro Bowl great Sterling Sharpe; Kansas City Chiefs Quarterback Alex Smith; former NFL Pro Bowl defensive end Jason Taylor; former NFL Pro Bowl quarterback Vinny Testaverde; former NFL MVP quarterback Joe Theismann; former NFL Pro Bowl linebacker Brian Urlacher and Dallas Cowboys tight end Jason Witten.

The list of new NFL contenders to play in their first American Century Championship includes Denver Bronco punter Britton Colquitt; former Pro Bowl and NFL running great Terrell Davis; Cincinnati Bengals tight end Tyler Eifert; Arizona Cardinals cornerback Patrick Peterson and Jacksonville Jaguars kicker Josh Scobee.

The 25th annual American Century Championship, July 15-20, 2014, is the premier celebrity golf tournament that airs on NBC Sports. American Century Investments is the title sponsor of the tournament.

What NFL great are you looking forward to seeing?

No comments:

Blogging direct from Edgewood, takes you on the Golf Course

Bookmark and Share